Ondo: 9 lawmakers oppose Deputy Governor Ajayi’s impeachment

The impeachment proceeding against the Deputy Governor of Ondo State, Agboola Ajayi has taken a new twist as nine members of the Ondo State House of Assembly refused to be part of the move.

The nine lawmakers led by the Deputy Speaker, Iroju Ogundeji and the Majority leader, Jamiu Maito dissociated themselves from the purported impeachment process over what they described as personal convictions.

Earlier, 14 lawmakers had signed the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor accusing him of gross misconduct, financial recklessness, abandonment of office among others.

According to the nine members, the 14 members who claimed to have signed the notice failed to meet two-third majority as stipulated in the constitution, maintaining that such a move would not work out.

“We the underlisted elected honourable members of the 9th session of the Ondo State House of Assembly hereby append our signatures to clarify that we have resolved not to partake in the impeachment process of the Ondo State Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi. .

“In view of the above we hereby bring to the notice of Mr. Clerk, Mr. Adeyelu Micheal Bode, The entire honorable members of the Ondo State House of Assembly and the General public that we do not support the impeachment process and would not want to be associated with it based on personal convictions.

Others not in support of the move are: Rasheed Elegbeleye, Tomide Akinrinbodo, Samuel Ademola, Favour Semilore Tomomew, Festus Akingbaso, Adewale Adekunle and Torhukerhijo Success.

However, Hon. Olugbenga Omole, the Chairman of the House Committee on Information, said that the ranting from some lawmakers was needless, noting that the impeachment order is a process which does not require two third of the members of the assembly.

“The house reconvened today after a month’s recess. We did what we had to do, we reconsidered the OSOPADEC bill for 2020 and we received a petition against the Deputy Governor of Ondo State, Hon. Agboola Ajayi and we are working on it.

“The first process here was that 14 members signed a notice of impeachment which is the first step.

“Those people ranting don’t know the procedure. It’s a process and the process is on and it shall be concluded.

 “Two-third of 26 is 18. Impeachment is a process. In fact, it is only nine that we needed for what we needed today, that is one-third and 14 signed and there were all at the plenary today. Like I said, it is a process.

“There are various petitions from citizens of Ondo State and we are working on all the petitions before us.

“I don’t know if the Deputy Governor has taken the Assembly to court. I’m not aware of any letter, you can ask the clerk.”

The sitting was held amidst tight security in and around the assembly complex.

The plenary was adjourned till Wednesday for further actions.

The former Secretary to Ondo State Government (SSG), Ifedayo Abegunde, who resigned on Monday had disclosed that his erstwhile principal, Rotimi Akeredolu, lost the 2016 governorship election to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), candidate, Eyitayo Jegede.

According to him, it was through his power and that of some other APC pillars that made INEC to declare Akeredolu as governor after he had lost.

Leave a Comment