Manchester City forward Erling Haaland wins the FWA award

Erling Haaland

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has been voted as the Football Writers Association’s best player of the Year. He claimed 82% of the total cotes cast beating teammate Kevin Debruyne, Arsenal duo Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka and Manchester United forward, Marcus Rashford.

Manchester City striker Erling Haaland has been named the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for 2022-23. The 22-year-old Norwegian becomes the first City player to win the award since Ruben Dias in 2021, and only the fourth player to win it in their first season playing in England, following Dias, Gianfranco Zola (1997) and Jurgen Klinsmann (1995).

Haaland’s award comes after a record-breaking season for the striker, in which he scored 51 goals in 47 appearances in all competitions. He broke the Premier League’s single-season goal record with his 35th goal of the campaign against West Ham United in March, and also scored four goals in the Champions League semi-final against Real Madrid.

Haaland’s form has been instrumental in City’s success this season. The club are currently on course to win the Premier League title, and are also in the FA Cup final and the Champions League final.

On receiving the award, Haaland said, “To win the Football Writers’ Award in my first season in English football is an honour. I try every single day to be the best I can be, and to be recognized like this means a lot to me.

“I have loved my time at City so far. My teammates are incredible, and they provide me with the chance to score goals.

“I want to thank all of them because I could not have won this award without them.”

Erling Haaland

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *