Abia, Oyo, Enugu Reject APC At Governorship Poll

The All Progressives Congress (APC), President Muhammadu Buhari’s party, did not have a smooth sail on the Saturday governorship poll in Abia, Oyo and Enugu states. Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia has been declared the winner of the election in the state.

The Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the state, Professor Damian Ozurumba, declared him as the winner of the poll after he secured 261,127 votes, more than double the 99, 574 votes his closest rival, Dr Uche Ogah of APC got.

Dr Alex Otti of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) finished third with 64,366 votes.

The Vice Chancellor of the University of Lagos, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe who is the returning officer of the Oyo State Governorship election has declared Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), winner of the poll.

Makinde won the election with a total votes of 515, 621 against Chief Adebayo Adelabu of the APC who garnered 357, 982. Makinde won with a vote difference of 157,639.

According to him, Makinde is declared governor-elect of the state because he has the highest number of votes in the election: ‘’Having satisfied the requirements and provision of the law, I hereby declare Seyi Makinde of PDP as the winner of the 2019 governorship election.’’

In the election, total number of registered voters, 293,107; accredited voters, 94,0211, rejected votes, 20,689, total valid votes, 916,860, total votes cast, 937,545.

Declaring Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi winner of the Enugu State governorship contest, the State Collation/Returning  Officer for the poll, Prof. Joseph Ahaneku, the Vice Chancellor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University in Awka, Anambra State capital, stated that the governor, who is the candidate of the PDP won in all the 17 Local Government Areas and polled 449,935 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 10,423 votes.

Ugwuanyi won the re-election with 95.54 percent of valid votes cast, while the APC candidate polled 2.21 percent.

Prof. Ahaneku, disclosed that reports from the Local Government Collation Officers in the 17 LGAs showed that the exercise was peaceful, free, fair and deviod of violence, adding that it was conducted in accordance with the guidelines of the Electoral Act and INEC rules and regulations.

Invoking the powers conferred on him, Prof. Ahaneku declared the full election result details as follows: Enugu South APC 533, PDP 17,513; Aninri LGA APC 496, PDP 21,450; Awgu LGA APC 1,232, PDP 23,025; Ezeagu LGA APC 255, PDP 21,448; Isi-Uzo APC 284, PDP 19,698; Nkanu West PDP 30,698, APC 243; Igbo-Etiti APC 1,223, PDP 25,557; Nsukka PDP 51,207, APC 572; Oji River PDP 22,369, APC 536; Udenu PDP 39,437, APC 394; Udi PDP 25,124, APC 823; Igbo-Eze North PDP 30,666, APC 1,607; Enugu North PDP 15,120, APC 276; Enugu East APC 352, PDP 22,300; Igbo-Eze South APC 705, PDP 38,326; Nkanu East APC 636, PDP 23,118; and Uzo-Uwani APC 256, PDP 22,879

Total votes scored: PDP: 449,935. APC:   10,423.

Share this post